Customer reviews for Serta Genius®

Serta Genius®

The Genius bed offers the perfect balance of plush comfort and extra firm support. A 2" layer of Serta® Support Foam rests below our Cool Action™ Gel Memory Foam, creating a firmer feel at the sleep surface.
Overall rating:
3.842 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(82 reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 82 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
6
1 Star
15
56 out of 78(72%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Genius®
Review 1 for Genius®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mattress

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Barbie75
Location:Evansville, In.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've owed my I Comfort for about 2 yrs. and it is the most comfortable bed I have owned! I was having hip and back problems, and it has made sleeping so much better. No preasure points! One thing I was worryed about was it might be hot after laying in bed for a while. It is not, the cooling gel is awesome. And really works to keep you cool. What a great mattress. Best money I've spent on a bed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+22points
30of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Genius®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Maybe I have a Lemon

PostedMay 31, 2012
Customer avatar
carlosc647
Age:45 to 54
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The first few days this iComfort Genius was great. It softened a little after a few weeks. It supplied a nice firm support and it actually did feel pleasant throughout the night for a while. Then after a few months it began to feel as mushy and unpleasant as a kitchen sponge. Without any exageration, if you sit on it hard enough, you can feel the boxspring for a second. Needless to say that after paying so much for a mattress, the disappointment was great. We're trying to figure out our next move with this mess of a mattress. We'll probably never look at Serta again, but we'll need to speak to them first.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Serta MattressCustomer ServiceJune 8, 2012
Carlos - we are very sorry to hear about this! You should first contact your retailer to discuss your return/exchange options to see if you can select a different model that may work better for you. If you would like to connect with Serta, please email us at SertaFBHelp@gmail.com.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Genius®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Way too firm! Feels nothing like the model in the store!

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Kerry
Location:Visalia, CA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have only had the mattress for a few nights but I am extremely unhappy. I purchased this mattress due to problems with back, neck and hip pain. I like firm matresses, but this was like sleeping on the floor. I wake up with pain that lasts all day. It is a beautiful mattress and the price was reasonable for a memory foam, but it is way too firm! I called the store I purchased it from and they said to walk and/or jump on it to try to break it in faster. I know that I need to give it some time so I can adjust to the different feel of the foam, but at this point I'm eagerly awaiting the 30 day trial before I can exchange it! Hopefully it softens up at least a little so I'm not in pain the whole month. Also, I didn't anticipate how much deeper this mattress is compared to my old one. I had a pillowtop and used a regualr box springs for it, so I got the bigger box spring for this one too. It is about 6 inches taller and looks silly in my bed frame as it sticks up above the foot board. Even if I keep the mattress, I will be trading in the taller box springs for the shorter one.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Serta MattressCustomer ServiceAugust 30, 2012
Thanks for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear that this mattress is not meeting your needs. The Genius is one of the firmest iComfort models, and it sounds like you may need something softer. It can take time for the body to adjust to a new mattress, but if after the first 30 nights you still aren't comfortable, we would recommend working with your retailer to exchange this for something softer, such as the Savant or Prodigy model. If you are a side sleeper, a softer model may actually work better for you too. Please let us know how the mattress is working for you after the first 30 days. Thanks!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Genius®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mattress firmer than instore model

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer avatar
toby90
Location:Washington Mo
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased the mattress after lying on the instore model which seemed to be fine. Upon receiving the one I purchased like the instore model, it is firmer and I am unable to get a good nights sleep, tossing and turning all night long... Thinking a firm memory foam mattress would be more comfortable than this. Is there anything I can do to exchange this.. I am not happy with this one!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Serta MattressCustomer ServiceJuly 26, 2012
We would be happy to help you find the right level of comfort with a different iComfort model, as it sounds like the one you selected is too firm for your body's needs. Remember, that testing a mattress in a store for several minutes is very different from sleeping on it for a full night; plus, your mattress came to your home brand new and never used, meaning the foams and fibers may feel slightly firmer at first. Now, the Genius model is one of our firmest, so perhaps you need something softer. Please email us at SertaFBHelp@gmail.com and we'll be happy to help you, and please include the name/location of your retailer.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Genius®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Expensive compared to a spring mattress, but so-o-o worth it

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Customer avatar
MrFlyingPig
Location:Livonia, MI, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My wife and I bought a new mattress a little over a year ago. It was a traditional spring mattress with a plush pillow top. While I liked it, my wife thought it to be too soft on top. I thought she would get used to it, since underneath the plush top was a firm spring mattress, but she never did. So we set out shopping for a new mattress. Originally, we were looking at traditional mattress sets in the $600 or so price range. The problem I knew we would run into was that although I can sleep on virtually anything, I prefer a mattress that is plusher, but she needs a very firm mattress or else she succumbs to backaches. I decided that I was willing to give up on my preferred comfort so she could get what she needed.
We were looking strictly at traditional spring mattresses. We weren’t even considering a memory foam mattress, because we knew they were expensive, and had heard they could trap body heat and get rather warm to sleep on. When we saw the floor model for the iComfort Genius, I joked “Hey here’s a firm memory foam one” and laid down on it. I was amazed. This mattress had the firmness my wife needed, yet it was a different kind of firmness – a firmness that contoured to your body and was more comfortable to me than the pillow top we had at home. I tried to convince her to try it but she brought up the warmth issue, and I knew she was right. That was a deal breaker for any memory foam mattress. If we were to spend top dollar on a mattress it had better be perfect in all respects. Soon, we were talking to a salesperson about purchasing the traditional spring mattress we had decided on. I commented to her how comfortable, yet firm the iComfort Genius was, and how it was too bad the memory foam mattresses were so warm. The salesperson then informed us of the cooling gel infused foam used in the iComfort. At that point, I knew what the best mattress was for us. Now, I just had to convince my wife it was worth the price. I had her lay down on it. The firm, comfortable support swayed her a bit. The 25 year warranty swayed her a bit more. But what sealed the deal was when we both were laying on it. She had her eyes closed and didn’t even realize I had gotten up and off the bed. Total comfort and isolation from motion that no spring mattress could even come close to - This was the mattress we needed to buy.
Although we spent more than we planned on our new mattress, there are no regrets from either of us. Sometimes the additional cost for an item is worth it. Although the iComfort Genius cost more than a traditional spring mattress, we both feel the cost is justified. You won’t find any other mattress that offers the firmness and comfort it offers. The sales person told us that all iComfort mattresses come with a 120 day satisfaction guarantee. If we didn’t like it after a few months, we could bring it back for a full refund. That sounded great, except after sleeping on it, we both know we won’t be returning this mattress, ever. We both highly recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Genius®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfortable bed!

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Angela80
Location:Beaumont, CA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this bed! Our last bed was a Simmons Beautyrest, super comfortable pillowtop, and for the last year or so, being a side sleeper, I developed a very sore bone ache on the left side of my body, also after 8+ hours of sleep per night, I would wake up like I hadn't slept at all. After first buying a much cheaper mattress at Sams Club, my hubby (who fell in love with it after lying on it only once) purchased this bed, and returned the other to Sams. I cannot believe I suffered so long with our old mattress. All of my aches and pains went away immediately after only sleeping on this mattress for 2 nights. Great mattress, would definitely recommend!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
27of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Genius®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I was looking for

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Doca
Location:Florida, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had developed piriformis syndrome (muscular issue) over the summer from strenuous exercise and a very bad mattress, but after I bought this mattress the change was astounding. From not being able to live a day without pain, to very light pain that goes away as soon as I stretch.
The mattress did feel a little stiff at first, but within 2 days it was lightly formed to my body and I haven't slept like this in many years. Extremely happy with this product, and recommend it to anyone with muscular issues. Feels very solid, and the quality is noticeable from the touch.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Genius®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Best at first, Worst at last!

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
AngryThomas
Location:Orlando, FL, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
When I bought the Genius it was wonderful, however not long after, it began to develop body impressions in a horrible way. I rotated the bed just as I was told, but it didn't seem to help. I called about the warranty and because the fabric would spring back to what would be the level position, I was told that there was nothing that could be done. In my oppinion, the Icomfort is the worst mattress on the market, you should buy anything except Serta.
If you want to spend a lot of money for a bed that will only be comfortable for about 6 mo. this might be your bed, otherwise KEEP SHOPPING.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceNovember 5, 2012
We're so sorry to hear about your experience, especially since we've had many Genius owners who are completely pleased with their purchase. If you think you may have a defective mattress, please contact us at SertaCare@gmail.com for assistance.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Genius®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

low back pain gone

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer avatar
dayxtj
Location:pittsburgh, pa
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been suffering from degenerative disc disease for 3.5 years after hurting lower back during a marathon....i have gone through physical therapy 3 times and bottles of ibuprofen waking up to lower back pain every day...my wife and I decided to invest in a good bed to help remedy my situation...Lower back pain that was there every morning vanished upon waking the first morning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am very thankful for this bed and both my wife and I cant wait to get in bed every night....great product
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Genius®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

you have to try it

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer avatar
erniemaria12
Location:lake elsinore
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
the first night we slept on our new icomfort i slept 9 hours all night & when i woke up in the morning my back was not in pain. i cannot wait to go to sleep at night now! my wife who has rhumitoid arthiritus also slept all night & was well rested the following day
Thank You Serta!
The Medina's
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Genius®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE this mattress!

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Beck57
Location:Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After much research, and past money wasted on other mattresses, my husband and I decided on the Genius I comfort. I have a bad back, which includes herniated disks, and scoliosis, so I needed something that had great support! I also sleep very hot, so I wanted a mattress, that didn't retain heat.
I want to honestly say that this mattress is worth every penny! I wouldn't trade it for anything! :) I get a good nights rest, and it gives my body proper alignment. It also stays cool, and does not retain body heat.
I want to buy another one for our guest room!
I love it! Thank you Serta!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Genius®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my new IComfort Genius mattress

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Nelle
Location:Mechanicsburg, PA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We had our IComfort Genius mattress for a week, and it is so wonderful to wake up without back/hip pain. I feel well rested and revived in the morning. My husband and I purchased a king size mattress... the extra room and comfort is amazing! I love, love this mattress. I wish we would have purchased it sooner!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
20of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Genius®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too firm for us!

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Jennifer
Location:Coon Rapids, MN, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really don't want to give a poor rating for this model. It was definitely comfortable enough, but just too firm for my husband and I. I have a herniated disc and other joint issues. Since sleeping on this mattress, I wake up pain free. I just wish it was slightly plusher. We have already contacted the retailer and they are trading it for another iComfort that is plusher. I will write a review of that model as well when I have slept on it. I am a "hot" sleeper, but I do not get hot sleeping on this bed. No pressure points! If you want super firm, this is the bed for you!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Genius®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Genius

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
augustaareafinefauxfinish
Location:Louisville, GA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hubby LOVE our Icomfort bed! I haven't had a hot flash or nightsweat since we bought it in May. My son is disabled and likes it so much that he is getting one for himself. Said his back, neck, hips and shoulders felt decent in the morning. Decent is good. Hubby wishes we could have gotten a softer one but I like the firmer, I can sleep on a bed of nails, with this bed I sleep in a coma. :)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Genius®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bed for bad backs!!!!

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Deanna
Location:Salem, MO 65560, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seeing as how both my husband and myself have 3 ruptured lumbar disks, we were looking for a bed that would provide comfort and support. After sleeping on this bed for only one night, we both felt refreshed, and not like something had been kicking us all night, causing more discomfort. There is no more tossing and turning and using multiple pillows to try to find a position that will allow for at least a couple of hours of restless sleep. This bed is the best we have ever owned. Sleep in this bed is the best we have ever gotten.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Genius®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Durability

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Jazz9
Location:Zanesville, OH 43701, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought mattress in Sept first 6 weeks I loved it then it got softer. The last 4 weeks I have woke up feeling like I was sleeping in a hole.The firmness didn't hold up. I am now waking up with headaches and low back pain. I wonder if adjustable frame relaxes mattress more? Wouldn't recommend if you need a firm support.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceDecember 4, 2012
We're so sorry for your experience, especially since we have so many Genius owners who love the feel of their mattress. Please contact your retailer to discuss exchange options. Perhaps our iSeries line which is a mix of memory foam and an innerspring would fit better with your comfort needs.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Genius®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great mattress

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:25 to 34
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We recently bought this mattress after looking for a while. We were interested in firm mattresses as I have some back problems. After looking at many different brands, we decided to go with this mattress. It provides overall comfort and is also a quality product. This is a great mattress for someone who likes firm mattress.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Genius®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

would not recommend

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
juby23
Location:Louisiana, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We have owned this mattress for two weeks. We have not had a good night's sleep yet. Both my husband and I toss and turn all night and wake with back aches.
Very unsatisfied.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Kelly EllisCustomer ServiceJuly 17, 2012
We are very sorry to hear about your experience. The Genius is a firmer model, and it sounds like you may need a different level of comfort from your mattress. Also, when switching to a new mattress, it can take your body time to adjust - especially if you have been sleeping on your previous mattress for a long time! First, we recommend that you contact your retailer to discuss your comfort exchange options. We really do want you to find the iComfort mattress that works for you. If you would like our assistance, you can reach us via email at SertaFBHelp@gmail.com.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Genius®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love our new bed1

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer avatar
RHude
Location:San Tan Valley, AZ, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband has a bad back and I have lower back issues. We love this bed! It does not sleep too hot. I live in Arizona and have slept on a Tempur-Pedic bed in the past. Tempur-Pedic heat up as you sleep, which is horrible in the summer. Very happy with my bed. Thanks Serta
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Genius®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer avatar
PainFreeMommaOf3
Location:West York, IL
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had back pain since the birth of our third child. I thought our last mattress (Sleep Number) would be the answer to my back pain, but only made it worse. I finally came to the conclusion that I would just have to live with the pain. My husband and I purchased the iComfort Genius a month ago and the first morning I woke up I was so excited...I had no pain! I cannot say enough good about this bed. I sleep sounder and I don't wake up to my husband turning over. It does seem to sleep a little warmer than our last bed, but that is something I am willing to live with if it means waking up pain free. I plan to replace my children's mattresses with iComforts within the next year.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>