Customer reviews for Serta Insight™

Serta Insight™

Experience all the benefits of Serta's Cool Action™ Gel Memory Foam with the Insight bed. This bed offers contouring, pressure-relieving comfort at the sleep surface while also supporting your body where it needs it most.
Overall rating:
3.958 / 5
4
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
12
52 out of 67(78%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Insight™
Review 1 for Insight™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't wait to go to bed at night

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer avatar
vidpro23
Location:Ohio
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We've had our mattress now one year - I still love it like the first night! I can't wait to go to bed every night and linger in the mornings because it just feels so darn good. I honestly can't think of a negative point for this bed. Heaven forbid if something happened to it I wouldn't hesitate to replace. I know this is a higher $$$ bed and it is totally worth it for something you spend such a great portion of your life laying on. My partner doesn't feel me turn over at night and vise versa and my sleep has never been so deep. Totally recommend this bed to everyone I can!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
17of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Insight™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Restful Sleep!

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
SpareP
Location:MA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After sleeping on a futon for yrs buying this mattress was one of the best purchases I've ever made!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
14of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Insight™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish I bought it sooner

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Customer avatar
MicheleS
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've never had such refreshing and restorative sleep in my life. I love this mattress, my husband doesn't complain about back pain anymore, and we are both sleeping better at night.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
21of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Insight™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I comfort is no comfort

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Ragan
Location:Peru ,Il
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
we bought a king size i comfort 1/13/13 (close to $3000 ) becuase we are both getting older & suffering from back & neck pain . It has not worked out well for us . It is initially very cold when lying down (which makes aches & pains worse ) then becomes very hot in the middle of the night . Our discomfort is worse than ever . The king matress also looks very bad , it sags in the two spots we lay and has a big "hump" in the middle where the two box springs meet . Rarely am I as disappointed with a purchase as I have been with this mattress !
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceJanuary 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We recommend contacting your store of purchase to schedule warranty service to see what may be going on with the mattress. The Cool Action material in the mattress is designed to help move heat away from the sleep surface, and we can't make a specific recommendation without knowing what top of bed items you are using or what other factors may be contributing to your sleep temperature. Your retailer should be able to help answer these questions. Thanks!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Insight™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best mattress I have owned.

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Julie627
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this mattress for 2 months and I love it.. Sleep better than ever and do not wake up stiff and tired.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Insight™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wake up feeling Renewed!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Ann57
Location:Brentwood, TN
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My husband invested in a very expensive spring mattress thinking that it would solve our restless sleep dilemma. Sadly it was wasted money because every morning I woke up with pinched nerves and achy muscles in certain areas of my back and he tossed and turned all night. We suffered for a few years afraid to invest in another mattress, but finally caved and bought the serta insight. I have slept on this bed for a week and wake up feeling fresh in both body and mind. I was nervous at first when I sat on the bed and it felt like a brick, but my body soon began to sink in and was supported in all of the right places. I don't wake up once during the night, and when I wake up in the morning I feel amazing. I highly recommend this mattress!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceJanuary 14, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. Thank you for choosing iComfort and we hope you continue to enjoy your mattress for many years to come!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Insight™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unsurpassed Comfort

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
ddweller151
Location:Oregon Coast
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We've been sleeping on this bed for a couple of weeks now and we love it. My wife was hesitant to change but now admits she is definitely sleeping better. Sometimes when I go in she's just lying there awake because it's "so comfortable". I agree. I get in the "Zero G" position and I swear it feels like I'm floating. Sometimes when I'm drifting off to sleep I feel like my body is still sinking in, even though I'm laying on my side. When I've overindulged, or eaten too close to bedtime, I just adjust my head upward to prevent reflux and drift off to sleep. I used to have to put on my robe and sleep sitting up on a big cushion. Very uncomfortable. Now I can't wait to get to bed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceJanuary 8, 2014
Donald - thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're happy to hear you love your iComfort mattress and hope you continue to enjoy it for many more year to come!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Insight™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hard edge and small size very disappointing.

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
OlsCoach
Location:Spring Branch TX
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought this bed to replace a 15 year old Select Comfort which is now called Sleep Number because it was recommended by my chiropractor. First thing I noticed after they delivered it was the gap at the foot board. The mattress measured 77 inches compared to 80 inches for the old mattress. Thought this was a minor issue. Wrong! My feet hang off the end.
When I get into bed, it is wonderful. Firm yet cushioned, supportive and cool. If it would stay just like this it would be a great mattress. However, the problems don't start until 20-30 minutes have passed. As the foam warms to your body temperature, it starts to give and I "sink" deeper into it. That might be okay if it were not for the hard edge they surround this bed in to help the memory foam hold its shape. This edge now forms a ridge about 2" high. If I get too close to this ridge I feel like I am laying on an incline. It literally forces me to the middle of the bed. To get away from this ridge I have to move towards the middle. My wife measured this distance to be 6 1/2 inches. Between us, that is 13" of sleep area that we cannot lay on! That makes our queen mattress smaller than a full size! Then when I get out of bed I have to climb over this ridge. The best way I can describe it is climbing out of a hole. Great abdominal workout, but very disappointing. I have averaged 4 1/2 hours of what I would call restful sleep since getting this bed. I usually awaken sometime between 3:30 and 4:30 AM and toss and turn trying to get comfortable so I can doze off. Most of the time I just get up and make the coffee. And yes, I have slept hotter with this bed. I do not think it will be good for our South Texas summers.
This bed has been a huge disappointment. Advertised as 60" x 80" my bed is actually 57 1/2" x 77". Way too small when you factor in the ridge formed by the supporting edge material. It will be returned. And I will take a tape measure with me this time.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceDecember 31, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We recommend contacting your store of purchase to inquire about their comfort exchange policy and dimensions. If you have moved or unable to reach the store, please contact our customer service team for assistance at 1-888-55-SERTA.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Insight™
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good mattress but not for me

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Ericaj
Location:Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
When our mattress was first delivered it Was extremely firmer than the mattress we tried in the store. Felt like sleeping on the floor. It took a month and a half for it to finally soften up. This mattress is suppose to be medium firm and after sleeping on it for 60 days I believe that to be true. I would not recommend this mattress for side sleepers or stomach sleepers. When I sleep on my stomach I wake up feeling discomfort and pressure on my stomach and chest area. I sleep mostly on my side and I wake up with numbing in my arms and pressure in my hip area and side. I would however recommend it to back sleepers if I sleep on my back I don't have any discomforts. It conforms well if you are able to be patient and give it weeks to soften up. I am returning this mattress to get something more suitable for my comfort needs but overall it's not a bad mattress.if you like beds hat are really firm with just a hint of softness. This is your mattress. If you like the soft and cloud like feeling do not get this mattress.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Insight™
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great for stomach sleepers, not side sleepers

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer avatar
nicole85
Location:Louisiana, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We purchased this bed in january and right away my husband loved it, releived his back pain tremendously. Im usually a stomach sleeper which I think this bed is perfect for...until I got pregnant and now at almost 7 mths pregnant this bed is awful! I have to sleep on my side and my hips and shoulders fall asleep and I wake up all night long to pain in those areas. Is there a serta bed good for pregnancy? May purchase it for our spare room and swap them out during pregnancy. If you are a stomach or back sleeper this bed is great, if a side sleeper I'd keep looking.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy SertaCustomer ServiceOctober 15, 2013
Nicole,

Thanks for sharing your review with us. We would like to suggest a memory foam mattress topper to help you during the pregnancy, which can add softness to the sleep surface, allowing you to then remove it later on when you are ready for the firmer surface. You can find Serta memory foam toppers at a variety of retailers including Amazon, Sam's Club and Overstock. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Insight™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Excruciating Pain

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Char76
Location:Chandler, AZ, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've been sleeping on this mattress for almost 2 weeks and have been experiencing the worst back pain that I have ever felt. Worse than after a car accident.
I really don't understand why it is causing so much pain. At first when I would lay down to go to sleep if felt great. Waking up in the morning is a whole other story. I am now counting down the days to my 30 day mark so that I can take full advantage of the 120 day trial period. I just hope that my current pain issues don't cause me to make another poor mattress purchasing decision.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Insight™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE my bed

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Grammx4
Location:Chunky, MS 39323, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have SEVERE degenerative disc disease in my lumbar and cervical spine that ult caused me to have 3level cerv fusion. After surgery we bought the iComfort bed w/adjustable platform! We're in heaven! It has totally transformed our sleeping and if we go out of town, we're suffering after the 1st nite. We turn the massage on and we are OUT before it goes off in 10 minutes. I've recommended to 5 ppl & all love it too!!! PS: the pillows are to die for!!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Insight™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

To HOT to handle

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer avatar
NeverAgain
Location:Florida, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I get extremely hot while sleeping on this mattress and sweat profusely EVERY single night (which was never the case before). I have even turned down my air conditioning to see if that would alleviate the issue, absolutely not- I'm just more cold on my top side, while sweating on my back side! It's so hot, that if you roll to the other side or get out of the bed, the other side where you were laying will keep hot spots of where you were for a LONG time afterwards. For example after getting ready for work one morning, I made my bed, and I could still feel the heat from where I was laying 30 minutes ago, that is not normal! Besides the heat, the bed get so "squishy" and lumpy after a couple of weeks, that you just lay in bed with back pain and sweating profusely and wondering, why didn't I do more research before buying this bed!??? Avoid this bed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Insight™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I can't believe it took me so long to buy this bed!

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Tammy64
Location:Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For many years, I have had issues related to sleep. I would go to bed in pain and wake up in more pain. After finally buying this bed system, I can not believe it took me so long to find a restful, pain free sleep! From the first night, I have not had hip or back pain. I actually sleep!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Insight™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does not soften

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
karrie20
Location:Eureka, CA, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We got this bed because it was supposed to be the medium softness, its hard as heck. When we first got the mattress it hurt to sleep on for about 3 months and then we got used to it but even after 9 months its still not as soft as the we expected it to be. the display in the store was great for our bed, granted it had been tried out a lot but i would have expected our bed to be softer by now, and its not. if you like hard beds this is a good one for you. But it if you like soft beds or medium beds don't go for this one. at times i think the floor would be more comfortable.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Serta CareCustomer ServiceJuly 11, 2013
Thanks for your honest and thoughtful review. Have you considered a memory foam topper for the mattress to add some softness to the sleep surface? You can check out what Serta offers on Overstock and Amazon.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Insight™
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Took a month to get used to mattress.

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Lightweight
Location:Baltimore, MD, USA
Age:55 to 64
Length of ownership:1 month
My husband and I bought this mattress one month ago. He has liked it from the beginning, but it's taken a month for me to get used to it. I weigh 118lbs., therefore, I don't "sink" into the mattress like my husband does, who is closer to 200lbs. I think it is very firm and I woke up most mornings with a back ache. It's better now, and we just got the pillows that are made of same material, which are really nice! If you are a small person, just know this is a very firm mattress.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Insight™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It sags

PostedJune 30, 2013
Customer avatar
FatherOf2
Location:Washington, NJ
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My wife and I bought this mattress (with the standard foundation) in a queen size and a twin for our son based on the great reviews online and the quick test we did at the store.
After sleeping on it for a month, the side where I sleep is sagging very badly to the point that you feel you are hitting the foundation if you put your hand or knee down. My wife didn't believe me until she layed on my side and said that it was horrible. I weight 175 lbs so I guess that's too much for this mattress. I wake up with a backache from this sagging.
Called the retailer where we bought them from and we are going back next week to replace both of them with another mattress (probably a spring mattress) based on the quality concerns.
I really hoped that memory foam would be good based on reviews but based on my experience, I'll probably stick with spring mattresses for the foreseeable future.
Response from SertaBy Serta CareCustomer ServiceJuly 11, 2013
Thanks for sharing this with us. While we have heard from many iComfort Prodigy owners that really love the mattress, an all-foam mattress may not be the right fit for you. We hope that you are able to work with the retailer to find the right comfort match for both you & your wife and your son. You may like one of our new iSeries mattresses that combines our Cool Action gel memory foam with a traditional innerspring. We hope to hear back from you once you reselect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Insight™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed with the switch

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Andrea23
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I switched to the iComfort Insight from a traditional inner spring mattress. First it took 4 days for the mattress to air out (Serta claims the iComfort products have little "off gassing" but it was very strong). The first few nights were fine but then as more time passed, my pressure points- hips and shoulders- began to hurt (I am a side sleeper). I think the thin top layer of foam needs to be thicker. I will be taking mine back- thank goodness for the sleep guarentee. I will likely try one of their lines that has a more substantial foam but am disappointed I will have to pay several hundred more for one.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceMay 15, 2013
Thank you for yor comments. The Insight is on the firmer side of our iComfort model assortment and it may be that this model isn't the right comfort match for you. Since you have indicated that you've had this mattress for less than one month, you are still under the 120 Day In-Home Trial, and we hope that you are able to exchange for the mattress that's right for you. While we understand your frustration over associated costs, this is a retail policy and we suggest you let your retailer know your feelings about this. We hope that it works out for you, and if you need assistance, please contact us at SertaCare@gmail.com. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Insight™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It sags

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Troy
Location:San Antonio, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My wife and I purchased this mattress two months ago and were very pleased with the comfort. Since then it has sagged on one side creating back pain in any sleeping position (I only weigh 180lbs). When I told my wife about it she said her side was fine and thought I was joking until she tried it. She referred to it as "sleeping in a hole". Very disappointing for being only two months old.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceApril 12, 2013
We're very sorry to hear about your experience. First we'd ask that you make sure you have the proper foundation with a strong center support. This would be a frame with with a metal bar running down the center or a platform bed with wooden slats. If you do have the proper support, we'd suggest reaching our to your retailer to discuss options. Hope this helps!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Insight™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Serta Family now disappointed to the core - body impressions in our iComfort in less than 6 months.

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer avatar
James34990
Location:Stuart, FL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We bought the Serta iComfort Insight with high expectations and it definitely delivered when it comes to comfort -- at first. However now, my spouse who weighs around 200 pounds, leaves a giant body impression in the mattress that lasts for days and never "comes back completely". You can literally grab the portion of the mattress where his weight distributes to and it will only be 3" thick with the depression/sinking spot. Then right next to it, the mattress is perfect. My side is perfect - I weigh 150 pounds. The biggest difference is that my spouse doesnt move much AT ALL while sleeping, so after 2-3 months, we actually have to rotate the mattress 180 degrees to bring it back to life and give him support/comfort. We were thinking of getting the Serta adjustable base but stopped, we are so sad and disappointed by this that I am not sure I want to spend another dime with Serta. And that is EVERY mattress is my house, my siblings houses, parents, grandmother and even cousin! WE ALL ONLY BOUGHT SERTA! But this is a total disappointment - will never buy something "so new....so quickly". Over a grand down the drain I guess. 25 year warranty? Not even a year and its shot.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceApril 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We hate to hear that you are unhappy with the Insight, especially since we have so many who love it. We'd suggest reaching out to your retailer to get an understanding of your options. You can have an agent come out and inspect that mattress.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>