Customer reviews for Serta iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™

Serta iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™

Luxuriously comfortable yet extremely supportive, this bed is made for those who love to feel cradled and cushioned at the sleep surface. This is the only iComfort® bed to feature our Cool Reaction™ Slow Recovery Latex Foam, designed to complement the pressure-relieving comfort of our Cool Action™ Gel Memory Foam.
Overall rating:
3.97 / 5
4
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 100 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
10
1 Star
13
74 out of 96(77%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Review 21 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

why did I wait so long....

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Customer avatar
JHolmes
Location:Raleigh, NC, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I read reviews for hours before deciding on this model, and my main concern was will I be hot? Will it have a bad odor? I am by nature a hot blooded person but so far so good, no issues with heat, at all. I did smell an odor once the plastic was removed for a few minutes and then never smelled it again. We have had the prodigy for 2 weeks now and my husband and I both really love it. I am actually sleeping all the way to my alarm going off, normally I wake up an hour or so before it goes off. I am getting a solid 8 hours of sleep and I can't imagine going back to an inner spring mattress.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than a waveless waterbed.........

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Dobie050
Location:Albany, Oregon
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We slept on a top-quality waveless, lumbar-support waterbed for the last 15-years. In recent years, we've been waking-up in pain. So, we decided to buy a cal king Prodigy. Well, we have since discovered that the old waterbed was a king in a cal king bedframe....go figure. However, we are now getting way much better quality sleep (we're even sleeping on our backs more) and it's only been a few days. So far, we seem to be a little stiff in the morning, which is probably from sleeping in mostly one position and the mattress being brand new and not fully broken-in yet. All that said, we are very pleased and looking forward to more restful sleep. If I have any complaints, I'll be back and voice them here.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good bed after 20 months

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
MR65
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Age:45 to 54
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We purchased the Serta Prodigy iComfort Oct. 2011, after the initial break-in period we really liked this bed until it developed a severe sag and now offers minimal support. The sag developed in less than two years of use, as a side note neither my wife or I are over weight (170#) so weight is not the cause. If you want a really expensive mattress that lasts about 20 months then this is the bed for you, otherwise go with a different brand. We'll see how the retailer/Serta handles this when we make a warranty claim.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceFebruary 11, 2014
Matt - we appreciate you sharing your experience with us, as we take product quality very seriously. Please contact your retailer for assistance with filing a warranty claim or call our customer service team at 1-888-557-3782.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have Happy Back.

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Lola
Location:Chicago, IL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first Serta mattress and my first foam mattress. My back feels great every morning with this bed. The first couple of weeks, the surface felt a little hard, but once it broke in, it became very comfortable. This mattress feels very plush and you have that cushy feeling that helps you get to sleep, but at the same time, you have the support that keeps you asleep. I tried the Savant mattress first, but kept waking up with lower back pain, it may have been too soft, because that pain is non-existent with this mattress. The 120 day guarantee took care of that though, and I traded it right out.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A bed away from a healthier you

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer avatar
iProdigy
Location:Houston, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We love this bed. The prodigy has a soft layer on the top for a very cushioned sleep yet a strong core at the bottom to support your body. This is a perfect blend for those who want the benefits of having a memory foam bed but not willing to sacrifice the comfortable feel of a traditional bed. It is pricy, but we caught the Labor Day sale at Mattress Firm so they threw in free box springs, delivery, and pillows, and bed protector, and made the purchase all worth it. I am glad we didn't spend the money on another traditional bed that wasn't going to give me some health benefits. The Prodigy was a good investment on myself.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Soft and comfortable

PostedJune 23, 2015
Customer avatar
JJ33
Location:Colorado
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hopefully I can help anyone deciding between a savant or the prodigy. I purchased the savant first and later exchanged it for the prodigy. Someone new to foam beds must understand these mattresses are much firmer until they break in. That being said, the only reason I exchanged mattresses is because I'm a side sleeper and the savant was not soft enough. I would wake up with stiffness in the shoulder I was lying on. I kept the mattress for almost 6 months and there was noticable improvement over time.
From what I read in the Serta website, the savant is softer than the Protigy. I do not understand this because the prodigy has much more give. The store associate told me to walk on my savant to speed up the break in process. I utilized this same technique when the Protigy was new and almost think I made it too soft. This was disappointing at first, but I either got used to it or it firmed back up a little to my liking. I have never awoken with shoulder pain since I switched to the Protigy. The bed is very comfortable in just about any position. The only negative I have with the switch is the Protigy sleeps much hotter. With the Savant, I never understood why there were so many discussions about being hot. My opinion is the Protigy wraps around your body more and can cause sweating. As we move into the summer, I can't even sleep with a blanket.
Despite pointing out the negatives, I am happy with this purchase. Since switching to the foam, I have never woke up with back pain. I purchased a new mattress in the first place as a result of back pain every morning. I would suggest finding a level of soft that works for you without going overboard. I feel the softer you go, the hotter it gets.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent bed so far

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
GhostMan
Location:Texas, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I know, most people will think I work for Serta. I don't.
We bought the Prodigy set from a local dealer after doing a lot of research. We narrowed it down to two name brands. We went with Serta because of the price and warranty. I strongly suggest if you're looking for a foam mattress, be sure to read the warranty's fine print on the maker's website. Serta has the best warranty compared to the other make we were looking at.
When the mattress was delivered, I was worried about the smell. There was a very slight chemical smell and even that wasn't enough to make the bedroom smell. It never bothered us.
The first couple of nights, we kind of tossed a bit. However, after 4 days or so we were sleeping very well. One of the things that worried me about any foam mattress was the heat retention. So far, I haven't been sleeping hot even though it was warm a couple of nights (Texas heat).
I was having some lower back pain for a year or so. Our old mattress was only 7 years old, but we decided to get a new foam mattress hoping it would help my back. We've had the mattress for about three weeks and I have not had ANY back pain. Even after putting all the heavy Christmas decorations into the attic, my back felt fine. So, this tells me the old bed was the reason for my lower back pain. The foam mattress is helping my back as well.
When you sleep on the mattress, you don't sink down like you would think. The foam kind of cuddles you a bit, but not to the point in making it hard to turnover (we're both side sleepers). I would say the bed is between a plush feel and a firm feel. It's a very comfortable bed and we are so glad we bought it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very comfortable and worth considering when you're in the market.

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Chirocoyote
Location:Brea, CA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This mattress is much cooler to sleep on than typical memory foam mattresses, although perhaps a little warmer still than conventional mattresses. It is soft, yet still offers good support. As a chiropractor, I would like to take a moment and offer some clarification on misunderstood ideas for mattress selection. Hard mattresses are not ideal for spinal health. Sagging is what is detrimental for spinal health, but a mattress that offers soft support to fill in the curves is ideal. This mattress does this very well. The improvements I would suggest are to make it subtly softer and cooler. If that was accomplished then this would have received more "Excellent" ratings above. After lying on numerous mattresses while making this selection, it was one of the top 2 mattresses I found for the money. Serta's loyalty program was then the final piece that sealed the deal.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Spend the extra $ to get tempur-pedic

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
CHouse08
Location:Michigan
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We purchased an I-comfort prodigy a little over a year ago. As many other reviews have said, it was a good mattress for the first 6 months or so and has since been getting progressively worse. I get up in the morning and sit on the side of the bed and feel like I am sitting on the platform. I wake up in a dip in the morning, it is difficult to roll over. The mattress is also NOT cool, it is quite the opposite in fact. When we first purchased the mattress, I couldn't tell if my husband was moving or still in bed even. Now, a little over a year since purchase and I can tell whenever he moves and especially when he gets out of bed. Frustrated with the purchase. That is a LOT of money to spend on a mattress to not have it last
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Revolution model - not on any of your selections

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
miri
Location:miami, florida
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
our icomfort Revolution mattress is not yet 2 years old and i feel it deeply sagging on either side & lumping in the middle. if i want to hug my husband, i have to crawl a up a hill.
has anyone had the same experience?
I can't even find that model (Revolution) anymore in any store. were they recalled?
I need mine recalled and refunded.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceJanuary 9, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your sleep experience with us. The Revolution model was not discontinued; we changed the model name to Savant. You should contact your store of purchase for warranty service so they can help you figure out what’s going on to cause the issue you are experiencing. If you have moved or if the store is closed, you can contact Serta for warranty service at 1-888-55-SERTA. Also, please visit http://www.serta.com/customer-care/... to download a copy of the iComfort warranty brochure for your reference. Thanks!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This bed will spoil you.

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Debbie73
Location:Safford, Arizona
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought the Prodigy. I was a little apprehensive at spending so much money for a bed. I've had lower back pains from back packing when I was in my early 20's and haven't been able to sleep comfortably on my back. I've had this bed for 1 1/2 years and I can now sleep on my back and I don't have the backache like I used to. I also like the fact that the whole bed doesn't jiggle when my husband or I get up in the night. I wish I had had this bed years ago when I was having children. The cons about this bed is that I've been spoiled now and when I sleep somewhere else, I don't get a good nights sleep.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Feels like it is saging

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
GrannyMo
Location:Dalton, MA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I do not awake anymore relaxed than I did with my old mattress after spending several thousand dollars.
It feels like I am in a hole, having trouble turning during sleep and the mattress is hot.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceFebruary 6, 2013
We're very sorry to hear about your experience, especially since we have so many customers who love the Prodigy. This mattress does have a softer feel to it, so it's possible that you may need a firmer mattress such as the Genius. Please contact your retailer to discuss exchange options.

If you feel as though the mattress may be defective, you can also contact your retailer to begin a warranty claim.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super comfort

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Al2012
Location:Rochester, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great matress. I bought it because of the memory foam and because of the reported gel cool feature. The problem is the sales guy said the warranty is not valid unless I get the protector pad. The protector pad diminishes the comfort an the heat disipation properties of the matress. I was very hot with the protector pad on the matress so now I have a $150 pad sitting in my closet. My recommendation is to not buy the protector pad. Also, we were given two memory foam pillows which don't work well because they are firm and cause my neck to be in an uncomfortable position due to my body sinking into the memory foam. The matress is great but the pillows and pad don't work with it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the most comfortable mattress I have owned.

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer avatar
jayman
Location:Illinois, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I reviewed several mattresses and went to several stores before deciding on the Serta Icomfort Prodigy. This mattress seemed to be the best for the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hate it - wish we had our old mattress

PostedMay 28, 2015
Customer avatar
KimR
Location:Arcadia, FL
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We had a Serta Perfect Sleeper for 9 years and were always very happy with it so when the day came in November 2014 for us to purchase a new a mattress our first choice was naturally Serta. This was a $5000 investment so we wanted to be sure about our choice. After visiting several different stores and even looking at both Tempurpedic and Sleep Number beds, we chose a Serta iComfort mattress with adjustable base from Rooms to Go. We had to wait several weeks for delivery but were so excited for that first night's sleep when it was finally delivered. After the first night, my husband was very frustrated with our choice. He had a miserable night; however, I had researched everything so much that I realized it takes a while to adjust to a new type of mattress. It has now been over 4 months which is a more than adequate adjustment period and we are both very unhappy with our mattress. My husband's back hurts worse than ever. He complains daily about how irritating it is to spend that kind of money and be this miserable and wishes we had our old mattress back. Is there anything we can do other than sleep in our guest bedroom?
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy SertaCustomer CareJune 4, 2015
Thanks for sharing your review and we will be happy to help you. Comfort is very subjective, and if a new mattress isn't comfortable to you and/or your husband, it could be that it is not the right level of comfort and support. The first thing to do would be to understand the differences between your last mattress, which you said you really liked, and this one. Is the new one significantly firmer? Significantly softer? You are absolutely correct in saying that 4 months is a long enough adjustment period, so if you are still unhappy, then this mattress is probably not the right fit for you. First, we suggest contacting Rooms to Go to see if there are any options available to you. If not, please email us at socialmedia@serta.com so that we can discuss this further with you to see how we can help. If we know more about which Serta model you had previously and which one you have now, we can break down the differences that may be causing your discomfort.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Comfortable/unsupportive - retailer would not exchange

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Mareston
Location:Shreveport, LA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My husband and I purchased this bed about 15 weeks ago from a Mattress Firm store. The prodigy is very comfortable, but when it "breaks in" it becomes very soft and does not provide adequate support for someone with back problems. I have never had back pain from sleeping on a bed until month 3 of sleeping on this bed. We went back to Mattress Firm and they would not let us exchange the bed for a more supportive model b/c it was (just past) the 90 day return policy. After having paid $3k for a mattress you would expect have a bed that did not induce back pad. Very disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This bed has so much comfort

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
sally50
Location:Houma, LA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the first night I slept on this mattress I knew I had made a good investment. I love the restful sleep I feel when I wake up in the morning. My son and daughter-in-law slept in my bed during the holidays and went home to Chicago and purchased one. They are very happy with their purchase also.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very pleased

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Kaiser42
Location:kansas
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
you will not be disappointed purchasing this mAttress. very comfortable and you always stay cool.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bed

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Rich44
Location:Lacey, WA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great bed and is very comfortable! My wife and I love this bed. We had debated between this bed and a similar tempurpedic, but decided on the prodigy and glad we did. We no longer wake up with back pain and we don't feel each others movements during the night. It is a little pricy, but we believe it is worth it. You want go wrong with this bed!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for iComfort® Prodigy Everfeel™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Bed on the show room floor by far

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer avatar
swishnyc
Location:NYC
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We tried over 20 beds on the showroom floor and kept on returning to the Serta Icomfort Prodigy Plush.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>