Customer reviews for Serta Prodigy™

Serta Prodigy™

Luxuriously comfortable yet extremely supportive, this bed is made for those who love to feel cradled and cushioned at the sleep surface. This is the only iComfort® bed to feature our Cool Reaction™ Slow Recovery Latex Foam, designed to complement the pressure-relieving comfort of our Cool Action™ Gel Memory Foam.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
6
1 Star
9
50 out of 64(78%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Prodigy™
Review 1 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME BED

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Chely
Location:Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this bed about a year and half ago. Still love it. I usually prefer soft beds but this was a good compromise with my husband who opts for a harder bed. Its provides supports while still giving you that sleeping on pillow feeling. Absolutely love this bed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very, very happy with this selection

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
TollRDTom
Location:The Woodlands, TX, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We had to purchase a full-size mattress to fill a guest room. Rather than buy another spring-type mattress we decided to try the icomfort "Insight" model. I know--this is a review on the "Prodigy", but just hold tight. This was the lowest cost entry into the icomfort series and just wanted to give it a try. My wife and I would take turns sleeping on it, knowing that we needed to replace our king mattress in the master bedroom soon. With the 120 day trial period, I fully expected to be swapping this out for one of the traditional mattresses, probably in Serta's Belagio line. So, no pre-conceived notions on our part with this purchase--just true open-mindedness.
After only a month, we were happy enough with the Insight to go buy the Prodigy. It has a softer top layer with plenty of good support still. (The insight does feel very firm). We both have enjoyed the quality of sleep with the support and comfort of the Prodigy. You don't sink into a hole like other foam mattresses I've tried, and I have no complaints about being hot. We did not experience any problems with fumes after about 10 minutes of taking off the plastic bag either.
As a side note, I got the icomort scrunch pillow and I really love that as well. Think feather pillow without having to re-fluff in the middle of the night.
I'll put a reminder to come back in a year and give an update. I really don't expect to see or feel any change simply due to the type of construction of this mattress, but I'll let you know if I do.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+35points
50of 65voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I am concerned about quality

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
casebug
Location:Pittsburgh PA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am concerned. Within one month my side has become much softer and comfortable but the other side is very firm which is causing a lump in the middle. I feel like I am in a hole. What will happen In one or two years? I went back to retailer who said I could exchange for another mattress which is cheaper but would still have to pay for more expensive mattress plus $100 restock fee plus delivery. What kind of comfort guarantee is that. I was never told this upfront and its giving serta a bad reputation. It is not 3/4 inch lower on my side so defect doesn't apply. Its a shame your retailers are not upfront.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great in the beginning but then deep sagging and miserably uncomfortable. Completely disheartened with memory foam.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
JTW49
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My husband and I replaced our sagging tempurpedic mattress after 5 years (our first mattress was replaced after 3 years and we sold the replacement mattress after 2 years) with a prodigy. We loved it initially but it now sags terribly. My husband and I rotated the mattress and switch sides hoping that will make a difference. It hasn't. So we will be contacting Serta and see what they say. I am very disheartened with memory foam. If you are OK with averaging about $1000/year for a bed, by all means buy memory foam. Otherwise, buy a more modest priced mattress and replace as needed. Financially you will be ahead of the game!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy SertaCustomer ServiceAugust 1, 2014
Thanks for sharing this with us. We were surprised by your experience because so many owners of the Prodigy model have told us how happy they are. But, this is one of our softest iComfort mattress models, and you may need something a bit firmer. You should contact Mor Furniture as our retailers are authorized to service our warranty if you believe that this is a warranty issue. We hope that you get this resolved.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not happy with purchase

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer avatar
CM50
Location:Ohio
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am really disappointed in this product. I have read so many great reviews, so I decided to jump in and spend the high dollar for this mattress. Not only does my back still hurt, but the so called cooling feature is not even noticeable. It looks pretty, but that just doesn't cut it for me. I'm out two grand, and I feel like I'm sleeping on the same old 25 year old mattress!! I only hope I can save the next guy a load of cash. Wish I would have gone with the other well known memory foam mattress! I thought it would be more comfortable, but it's hard and not cooling at all!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I finally sleep better!

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Chacha84
Location:Westerville, Ohio
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I work retail, on my feet all day and my old bed wasn't cutting it. I don't see where the bad reviews come from because this bed has most changed my life! It stays cool, I don't even realize my 130 pound dog is sleeping with me and it's just down right comfortable.
Thanks serta!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very Disappointed in Oklahoma.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer avatar
bgood315
Location:Ringwood, OK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After 13 years of marriage...my husband and I decided it was time to invest big in a new matterss...and we did exactly that, over $2,600! After having every intention on purchasing a Tempur-pedic...we were "sold" on the latest and greatest technology...the brand new Serta iComfort series. "This mattress will last you 20+ years" and "it'll be like a brand new bed every time you crawl into it" so we felt it would be worth the investment. The iComfort series also offered what seemed like a better quality bed for a few hundred dollars less than the Tempur-pedic.
For the first 6 months or so, we were both pleased. Now, after owning for 21 months both of us HATE IT!!!!! It is "ok" #but not great# if there is only one person sleeping in it. If we are both in it, we roll to the middle...which was not supposed to happen! It takes an effort to roll up and over the edge to get out of it! We wake up in the mornings sore and aching, can't stand to be in it for more than 7 hours at a time. It has been such a disappointment. If we had a chance to purchase it again...I would cough up the extra couple of hundred and purchase the Tempur-pedic! But...we're stuck with this unComfort bed!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Three Year sleeping like a baby

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Charles3344
Location:Waterloo,Iowa
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had mine(Prodigy) for just over three years now, And it looks brand new. I sleep well at night so does my wife I'm writing this review because a friend said they read bad reviews about them. So I read some objectively And I saw people complain about things that weren't mattress related, like "we roll to the center of the bed" well first off that sounds like a bed frame problem or you would both sink on your sides. others were this bed is to hard or soft, and how does that effect the quality. if you like firm buy a firm one and vice versa. I bought one that was soft and it feels great if you like firm buy the genius or the new Savant firm.
I have even seen reviewers say theirs came rolled up, well then you didn't buy an iComfort they come flat in a huge box.
last issue heat I have slept in a Tempurpedic and i own an iComfort yes it is cooler. That being said its not an air conditioner. if you have hot flashes the bed is going to cure them. its not going to magicaly save you money on A/c bills.
Bottom line its a great bed, they give you 120days to make up your mind. buy it frrom a reputable dealer. not off ebay or one that fell off a truck.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good bed after 20 months

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
MR65
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Age:45 to 54
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We purchased the Serta Prodigy iComfort Oct. 2011, after the initial break-in period we really liked this bed until it developed a severe sag and now offers minimal support. The sag developed in less than two years of use, as a side note neither my wife or I are over weight (170#) so weight is not the cause. If you want a really expensive mattress that lasts about 20 months then this is the bed for you, otherwise go with a different brand. We'll see how the retailer/Serta handles this when we make a warranty claim.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceFebruary 11, 2014
Matt - we appreciate you sharing your experience with us, as we take product quality very seriously. Please contact your retailer for assistance with filing a warranty claim or call our customer service team at 1-888-557-3782.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Comfortable but HOT

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Anniesfolks
Location:Vallonia, Indiana
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My husband and I are both bigger people, I don't know if it makes a difference, but we wake up feeling like we are sleeping on a heating pad. At first I thought maybe it was just me but then he started complaining also. There is nothing cool about this mattress. We have only had it a few weeks and I am calling retailer today to see what options we have. We spent way to much money to wake up on the coldest night in Indiana throwing off covers, then be cold on top! So if you are bigger size, over 200 #'s or are hot natured, Don't do it!
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceJanuary 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're sorry to hear you're finding the mattress too hot, since the Cool Action material in the mattress is designed to help move heat away from the sleep surface. We can't make a specific recommendation without knowing what top of bed items you are using or what other factors may be contributing to your sleep temperature, so we do recommend contacting your retailer for assistance. Thanks!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Revolution model - not on any of your selections

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
miri
Location:miami, florida
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
our icomfort Revolution mattress is not yet 2 years old and i feel it deeply sagging on either side & lumping in the middle. if i want to hug my husband, i have to crawl a up a hill.
has anyone had the same experience?
I can't even find that model (Revolution) anymore in any store. were they recalled?
I need mine recalled and refunded.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceJanuary 9, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your sleep experience with us. The Revolution model was not discontinued; we changed the model name to Savant. You should contact your store of purchase for warranty service so they can help you figure out what’s going on to cause the issue you are experiencing. If you have moved or if the store is closed, you can contact Serta for warranty service at 1-888-55-SERTA. Also, please visit http://www.serta.com/customer-care/... to download a copy of the iComfort warranty brochure for your reference. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unsure of long term firmness

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
LisaAlex
Location:Madison Heights, MI
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When we first bought this bed it was great. However, now that we have used it for 2 years, in our opinion, it seems to be loosing it firmness. If we had to do it all over again, we would not, price to high and the difference we see is no different than spring beds with a form mattress cover on top.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceJanuary 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing iComfort. We recommend contacting your store of purchase to discuss your options. If the store is no longer in business or you have moved, you can contact our customer service team at 1-888-55-SERTA.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Still new

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Beca
Location:Chesapeake, Va
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
We have had this bed for a week now and I cannot get a good long nights sleep. After about 4 or 5 hours I wake up and cannot get back to sleep. It is comfortable and my back feels better. Just hope I can start sleeping longer.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceJanuary 3, 2014
Thanks for choosing Serta. Please remember it can take several days to adjust to your new mattress, especially if you had slept on your previous mattress for a long time. Please contact your retailer or our customer service team at 1-888-55-SERTA if you have any questions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for us

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Nellie33
Location:Hanford, CA 93230, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We bought the prodigy with adjustable frame. LOVE the adjustable frame, not the mattress. After having it for 6 weeks we called the store to switch it out as my husband and I both were waking up with severe lower back pain. We switched it for the Genius. WELL, we have had it for 2 nights, and they are the worst two nights of sleep of both our lives. Disappointed we paid this much for a mattress and we are stuck with it. Maybe memory foam is just not for us. Missing my old wore out traditional mattress
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cool...as a furnace!

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer avatar
HeavySleeper
Location:Boca Raton, FL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I recently woke up after my first night sleeping on our brand new Serta iComfort Prodigy mattress. It was delivered just yesterday.
My previous mattress, a Serta Perfect Sleeper (Royale), is now leaning against a wall waiting for the donation truck to pick it up in a few days.
I am truly sorry to write a one-star review on a company's official website, but I wanted to give others out there the heads up that this mattress is by no means "cool", as is so aggressively marketed. To the contrary, I woke up twice last night in a hot sweat. This has never ever happened to me before and I am having serious doubts as to whether this bed and I will be getting along.
In promotional material, Serta continuously mentions the gel infused cooling memory foam, the cooling action, and the CoolReaction recovery. Really? I just don't feel it. Absolutely nothing cool or cooling about my Prodigy bed -- whatsoever. Serta: were you referring to the cool LOOKS of the bed? If so, I apologize in advance, but if you truly were trying to imply that the bed I just slept in has any temperature lowering benefits, I would like to set the record straight. It just doesn't. If anything, it is the total opposite.
Serta: I know, I know, "try it for a few weeks". If I can, I will, but, in the meantime, I will be calling the charity to hold off on the donation of my old spring mattress. I may very well be switching back.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I slept like a baby

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
calli
Location:Cary, NC
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We went back and forth on the competitor mattress and then spotted this one - not only was it half the cost, but if focused on cooling which was important and is a known name. I can not remember the last time I was so rested in the morning.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Comfortable/unsupportive - retailer would not exchange

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Mareston
Location:Shreveport, LA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My husband and I purchased this bed about 15 weeks ago from a Mattress Firm store. The prodigy is very comfortable, but when it "breaks in" it becomes very soft and does not provide adequate support for someone with back problems. I have never had back pain from sleeping on a bed until month 3 of sleeping on this bed. We went back to Mattress Firm and they would not let us exchange the bed for a more supportive model b/c it was (just past) the 90 day return policy. After having paid $3k for a mattress you would expect have a bed that did not induce back pad. Very disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It was tough to give up my waterbed, but this bed was worth it

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer avatar
BasicTek
Location:Lake Mary, FL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had gone through malls, bed stores, and online looking for a new bed as my fiancée did not like my water bed I had been sleeping on for decades. I really didn't want to give up my waterbed but decided if I did then I would get something awesome, something cool, and better features than my waterbed provided. After much research I decided I wanted memory foam with adjustable frame, but it had to be cool, as I never even installed my heater in my waterbed (but did have a wool mattress cover# After trying many memory foam mattresses I almost settled on a no name brand, even though I thought the icomfort was the most comfortable and coolest. When writing up the sale I saw the warranty was different for the adjustable frame and decided on the icomfort Prodigy instead for a little more, then I found I was able to get a simplier adjustable frame from the leader in memory foam mattresses for $500 less than the advanced serta one with built in massage, wireless remote, etc which didn't appeal to me. So in combination I paid about 3K and I'm completely satisfied and warrantied for decades which #who really wants the same bed for 20+ years anyway?) If I get 10 good years I will still be super happy, and so far after 4 months the icomfort prodigy has been the most comfortable bed I've ever owned and the adjustable factor with the tempor-pedic frame is a bonus. for whatever reasons I did not like the tempor-pedic or other no name mattresses better and at this point feel 100% happy with my choice and safe with the Serta name #in case anything does degrade). I've read some of the negative reviews and think most of them didn't get the right mattress for them or didn't give Serta a fair chance at correcting the issues. I don't expect to have any issues but from what I've seen Serta would most likely correct it if we did. I'm looking forward to enjoying this purchase for a long time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Struggling...

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
sbreide
Location:St. Louis, MO, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Easily the most uncomfortable mattress I have purchased. 3 nights in and I'm dealing with quite a bit of back and side pain and not sleeping through the night. I'm not sure how I'll manage to sleep on this long enough to "break it in". Mattress feels drastically different than the floor model in the store. The 30 day exchange window can't come soon enough.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Happy Happy

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer avatar
K9Officer
Location:Ohio, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We bought an I-Comfort Prodigy about 2 months ago to see if it would relieve my back pain. I've been a police officer for 22 years and the gunbelt has taken it's toll on my back. When I would get up out of bed I would have severe lower back pain that ran down the backs of my legs to the point it would take up to 5 minutes before I could take a step. After 2 months of sleeping on the Prodigy, I get up with NO back pain at all, I sleep all day long so I'm rested and ready to go for midnight shift. Thanks Serta!!!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>