Customer reviews for Serta Prodigy™

Serta Prodigy™

Luxuriously comfortable yet extremely supportive, this bed is made for those who love to feel cradled and cushioned at the sleep surface. This is the only iComfort® bed to feature our Cool Reaction™ Slow Recovery Latex Foam, designed to complement the pressure-relieving comfort of our Cool Action™ Gel Memory Foam.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
6
1 Star
9
50 out of 64(78%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Prodigy™
Review 21 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product has great features

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer avatar
gene57
Location:The Woodlands, TX, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Seems to help my back. I have arthritis and in the past I would wake up in the morning with aches all over my body. Now I wake up with less aches and pains.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This bed will spoil you.

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Debbie73
Location:Safford, Arizona
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought the Prodigy. I was a little apprehensive at spending so much money for a bed. I've had lower back pains from back packing when I was in my early 20's and haven't been able to sleep comfortably on my back. I've had this bed for 1 1/2 years and I can now sleep on my back and I don't have the backache like I used to. I also like the fact that the whole bed doesn't jiggle when my husband or I get up in the night. I wish I had had this bed years ago when I was having children. The cons about this bed is that I've been spoiled now and when I sleep somewhere else, I don't get a good nights sleep.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This bed has so much comfort

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
sally50
Location:Houma, LA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the first night I slept on this mattress I knew I had made a good investment. I love the restful sleep I feel when I wake up in the morning. My son and daughter-in-law slept in my bed during the holidays and went home to Chicago and purchased one. They are very happy with their purchase also.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very pleased

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Kaiser42
Location:kansas
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
you will not be disappointed purchasing this mAttress. very comfortable and you always stay cool.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bed

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Rich44
Location:Lacey, WA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great bed and is very comfortable! My wife and I love this bed. We had debated between this bed and a similar tempurpedic, but decided on the prodigy and glad we did. We no longer wake up with back pain and we don't feel each others movements during the night. It is a little pricy, but we believe it is worth it. You want go wrong with this bed!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Bed on the show room floor by far

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer avatar
swishnyc
Location:NYC
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We tried over 20 beds on the showroom floor and kept on returning to the Serta Icomfort Prodigy Plush.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Harder than I thought it would be

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer avatar
WhaleWatcher
Location:Temecula, CA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I decided to switch from my water bed to a foam mattress thinking it would offer the same cushioning effect. I ordered the Prodigy, but an "insight" was delivered. After several nights I decided to search for the tag when I discovered it was the wrong mattress. The store promptly exchanged it for the correct product, but even this one feels too hard for a former water bed user - much harder than it felt in the store.
I purchased the Serta over the Temperpedic because of the cooling gels. They do work. I do not become overheated while sleeping. The lower price was also a factor, but after giving it a try for 30 days, I think I will have to reconsider.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent bed so far

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
GhostMan
Location:Texas, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I know, most people will think I work for Serta. I don't.
We bought the Prodigy set from a local dealer after doing a lot of research. We narrowed it down to two name brands. We went with Serta because of the price and warranty. I strongly suggest if you're looking for a foam mattress, be sure to read the warranty's fine print on the maker's website. Serta has the best warranty compared to the other make we were looking at.
When the mattress was delivered, I was worried about the smell. There was a very slight chemical smell and even that wasn't enough to make the bedroom smell. It never bothered us.
The first couple of nights, we kind of tossed a bit. However, after 4 days or so we were sleeping very well. One of the things that worried me about any foam mattress was the heat retention. So far, I haven't been sleeping hot even though it was warm a couple of nights (Texas heat).
I was having some lower back pain for a year or so. Our old mattress was only 7 years old, but we decided to get a new foam mattress hoping it would help my back. We've had the mattress for about three weeks and I have not had ANY back pain. Even after putting all the heavy Christmas decorations into the attic, my back felt fine. So, this tells me the old bed was the reason for my lower back pain. The foam mattress is helping my back as well.
When you sleep on the mattress, you don't sink down like you would think. The foam kind of cuddles you a bit, but not to the point in making it hard to turnover (we're both side sleepers). I would say the bed is between a plush feel and a firm feel. It's a very comfortable bed and we are so glad we bought it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is awesome

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Pumpin
Location:MD
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I fell in love the with this mattress the first time I lay on it because of it's comfort. My wife and I were having trouble with our old mattress because it's sinking in and we swore not to use spring mattress anymore. This mattress is cool and take your body posture. No more sleepless night and achy night.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sleep better then ever

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Customer avatar
HAMMERSLADY
Location:Westland, MI, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My husband and i love our new iComfort prodigy adjustable bed its the best night sleep we have ever had...my husband would always get up in the middle of the to sleep on the couch it the living room because of his bad back...well we just got married ....i couldn't deal with him not sleeping with me anymore so it took us a while to find the bed...thanks to Serta iComfort he now sleeps all night in bed with me.....WE LOVE OUR BED!!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I am concerned about quality

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
casebug
Location:Pittsburgh PA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am concerned. Within one month my side has become much softer and comfortable but the other side is very firm which is causing a lump in the middle. I feel like I am in a hole. What will happen In one or two years? I went back to retailer who said I could exchange for another mattress which is cheaper but would still have to pay for more expensive mattress plus $100 restock fee plus delivery. What kind of comfort guarantee is that. I was never told this upfront and its giving serta a bad reputation. It is not 3/4 inch lower on my side so defect doesn't apply. Its a shame your retailers are not upfront.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very Disappointed in Oklahoma.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer avatar
bgood315
Location:Ringwood, OK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After 13 years of marriage...my husband and I decided it was time to invest big in a new matterss...and we did exactly that, over $2,600! After having every intention on purchasing a Tempur-pedic...we were "sold" on the latest and greatest technology...the brand new Serta iComfort series. "This mattress will last you 20+ years" and "it'll be like a brand new bed every time you crawl into it" so we felt it would be worth the investment. The iComfort series also offered what seemed like a better quality bed for a few hundred dollars less than the Tempur-pedic.
For the first 6 months or so, we were both pleased. Now, after owning for 21 months both of us HATE IT!!!!! It is "ok" #but not great# if there is only one person sleeping in it. If we are both in it, we roll to the middle...which was not supposed to happen! It takes an effort to roll up and over the edge to get out of it! We wake up in the mornings sore and aching, can't stand to be in it for more than 7 hours at a time. It has been such a disappointment. If we had a chance to purchase it again...I would cough up the extra couple of hundred and purchase the Tempur-pedic! But...we're stuck with this unComfort bed!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I slept like a baby

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
calli
Location:Cary, NC
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We went back and forth on the competitor mattress and then spotted this one - not only was it half the cost, but if focused on cooling which was important and is a known name. I can not remember the last time I was so rested in the morning.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Comfortable/unsupportive - retailer would not exchange

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Mareston
Location:Shreveport, LA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My husband and I purchased this bed about 15 weeks ago from a Mattress Firm store. The prodigy is very comfortable, but when it "breaks in" it becomes very soft and does not provide adequate support for someone with back problems. I have never had back pain from sleeping on a bed until month 3 of sleeping on this bed. We went back to Mattress Firm and they would not let us exchange the bed for a more supportive model b/c it was (just past) the 90 day return policy. After having paid $3k for a mattress you would expect have a bed that did not induce back pad. Very disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Week In...So far sooooo good!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer avatar
cBuck
Location:Manteca, CA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'll be brief and give the meat and potatoes I spent the last few months TRYING to find online until I bought the Prodigy two weeks ago while the box springs (AKA FOUNDATION) were "free" at most retailers...
Store floor models are fairly well broken in... Ours was delivered and did feel much stiffer the first night. There is a "new car" type plasticky smell that is fading quickly, but is still there a week in now. I purchased the Serta StabL Base metal bed frame from Amazon, and I am pretty sure it is the most serious bed frame I have ever seen (and so far the QUIETEST). Highly reccomend that...The reason I mention the bed frame is because I found it hard to find out certain information regarding mattress types, frames, box springs vs foundations ect!
Foam mattresses need either the box spring/foundation as support before they will work with your typical metal bed frame. Otherwise if you purchase JUST the mattress, a platform (flat surface) bed or heavily slatted frame is required.
King sized mattresses (including Cal King) will get 2 box springs taking up the full length but half the width each....This is normal, and honestly, a good thing they were split otherwise we would have had this set taken back cause it would not have fit up the stairs!
I am a very "HOT" sleeper, so I opted for the iComfort series because of the gel infused cooling compared to the TP....So far I am VERY happy with the temperature, but it is March....I am 6'3" and 250 pounds. I work out a lot so the pressure points on my old mattress were aweful. So far, I almost dont move at all yet on the Prodigy. Feels great so far. Highly reccomend if you can find at a good price or during a sale. If it's a little out of your price range, wait for the sale and save up, it's worth it!!!
Hope this helps.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sweet

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
serta4life
Location:florida
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
one night in this is one night in the paradise! with this you can say back pain bye bye
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money !!!

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Happy402
Location:Detroit, MI, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have sat down to write this review several times, because I wanted it to be just right. I hope this reveals enough information to make others go out and buy one. I am 51 years old and had back surgery 6 years ago. After my surgery I had gotten use to waking up with back pains and thought it was normal. Once we got the iComfort home, sleeping has not been the same. We ABSOLUTE LOVE our bed. My husband who works in construction says "He may be trired from not enough rest, but his body never feels tired" Now he gets a good night sleep. We have the adjustable frame and oh Boy !!! it is GREAT. Well Worth the MONEY !!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome mattress

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Lynn12
Location:Jackson, MS, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this mattress!! I was having back pain and horrible hip pain. I could hardly move most days. Someone suggested it could be my mattress. I'm embarressed to say my mattress was 20 years old! What a difference! No more pain!! This is the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on! I researched mattresses for weeks before buying. I was afraid to buy a Tempurpedic because I heard they are hot and I am very hot natured and have night sweats. So after much research I decided to buy the Serta icomfort prodigy. It has changed my life! Soooo comfortable yet it's very supportive! I love It!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has allowed my spouse and I a solid nights sleep, finally.

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Brian244
Location:Glen Ellyn, IL, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I were not getting a good nights sleep to save our lives. We decided on the King I Comfort Prodigy with the adjustable bed frame twin-extra long. We attached the two beds together to form the king size.
I have to say that I have never slept better. I used to wake up 2-4 times a night with a back ache. I now sleep thru to 6 or 7 am without wakening. I feel much better. The only draw back are that we have to buy twin XL fitted sheets which are hard to find. Overall we love this bed..
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Prodigy™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cool...as a furnace!

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer avatar
HeavySleeper
Location:Boca Raton, FL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I recently woke up after my first night sleeping on our brand new Serta iComfort Prodigy mattress. It was delivered just yesterday.
My previous mattress, a Serta Perfect Sleeper (Royale), is now leaning against a wall waiting for the donation truck to pick it up in a few days.
I am truly sorry to write a one-star review on a company's official website, but I wanted to give others out there the heads up that this mattress is by no means "cool", as is so aggressively marketed. To the contrary, I woke up twice last night in a hot sweat. This has never ever happened to me before and I am having serious doubts as to whether this bed and I will be getting along.
In promotional material, Serta continuously mentions the gel infused cooling memory foam, the cooling action, and the CoolReaction recovery. Really? I just don't feel it. Absolutely nothing cool or cooling about my Prodigy bed -- whatsoever. Serta: were you referring to the cool LOOKS of the bed? If so, I apologize in advance, but if you truly were trying to imply that the bed I just slept in has any temperature lowering benefits, I would like to set the record straight. It just doesn't. If anything, it is the total opposite.
Serta: I know, I know, "try it for a few weeks". If I can, I will, but, in the meantime, I will be calling the charity to hold off on the donation of my old spring mattress. I may very well be switching back.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>