Customer reviews for Serta Renewal Refined™

Serta Renewal Refined™

Experience a new level of cradling comfort and deep down support with the iComfort Renewal Refined, made with two layers of our revolutionary Cool Action™ material. This bed features Serta's latest breakthrough in foam technology, Cool Action™ Gel Energy Foam.
Overall rating:
4.16 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
19 out of 23(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Renewal Refined™
Review 1 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Elaine45
Location:Missouri
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Much more comfortable than my last mattress. I no longer wake up with aches and pains. Love it!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the mattress adjustable base combination

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
BareO
Location:Lyles, Tennessee
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchase the mattress, adjustable base combination. Love sleeping in zero gravity. It's helping with my long ongoing back problems. I would highly recommend Serta!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Life is back to normal

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Susan13
Location:Palm Coast, Florida
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sleeping on the Serta Icomfort mattress has given me my life back. I suffer from unbearable back pain due to Chronic Quadratus Lumborum Dysfunction. (QL Muscle). I used to have a Tempurpedic Mattress and I couldn't sleep at night because of the spasms and pain. We decided to try a new mattress and our salesman at our favorite furniture store did not steer us wrong. He knew I had back problems and recommended the Serta IComfort. In less than 7 days I was PAIN FREE! We are talking 3 years of suffering and it was all due to the wrong mattress. Well, after having my new wonderful mattress for about 4 months we started renovating our master bedroom and bath. That meant that we had to sleep downstairs in the kids bedrooms. After 3 nights the pain started up again. We tried a different room. It got worse. Finally after 2 weeks of suffering again and crying, my husband put our bed together in the living room. Two nights on my Serta and I am feeling better again. I don't care that we are in the living room for 4 weeks until the renovations are finished. I am on my way to being pain free again. I will never buy another brand of mattress. Serta has really been a life saver.
Anyone who has ever suffered from back pain knows it sucks the life out of you. Serta gave it back to me. Thank you for that!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WONDERFUL

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
kelly16
Location:California
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned expensive mattresses in the past, i do my homework before purchasing and don't gasp too much at prices because i know quality sleep makes a more productive and pain free day. I do have back, neck and arthritis problems so sleep isn't always easy even with my educated mattress choices in the past. I purchased the ca king renewal refined icomfort set 2 years ago and i am sleeping more comfortably with this mattress than any other mattress i have ever purchased! Writing the review 2 years later beacause a friend was asking me about mattress advice, and since i really rely on reviews i thought it was time i put in my 2 cents.. i also purchased an icomort acumen about 2 months ago for my teenage daughter who has back problems, she loves hers also.. best money i've spent on comfort!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I do not recommend

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Diane79
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My husband and I were tired of waking up with back aches, so we decided to try the I comfort mattress. I also was interested because of the recommended cooling gel. We tried several mattresses and final bought the set. It has been a year and needless to say, we were both very unhappy. We both still get backaches, the mattress now has started to curl up in the corners and the cooling gel, never worked. If anything, due to the fact that you have to use their special mattress moisture protection cover, it traps the body heat more. We both believe that it was a total waste of money. We thought we had given it a fair shot, but no thank you.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceDecember 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We recommend contacting your store of purchase for assistance. If you have moved or unable to reach the store, please call our customer service team at 1-888-55-SERTA.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally! A mattress we can sleep on with comfort

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
ocean
Location:Southern California
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have tried all sorts of mattresses and were starting to get desperate that we would never find one that suits both of us. We were skeptical about the iComfort, because we have not had good luck with other foam products, but we were not happy with innersprings either, even top of the line. After we spent all afternoon testing many different models in the store, the salesman suggested the iComfort, pointing out that we could return it if we didn't like it.
We tried several models, and the Renewal Refined seemed best for us.
WOW!! We've had it for several weeks now, and love it more every night. Unlike other memory foam mattresses, the i Comfort is NOT hot. (We see that some reviewers have complained about that, and we wonder if they didn't follow the instructions not to use a quilted mattress pad. We tried that one night, and it was awful. So make sure that you stay away from nice soft quilted mattress pads, because they interfere with the functioning of the foam in the mattress.)
Thank you, Serta, for making a mattress we can love!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy SertaCustomer ServiceOctober 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review and we hope that you enjoy your mattress for years to come!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT Comfortable

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer avatar
J0E79
Location:Ypsilanti, MI, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This bed is very hard. I have had a back injury and was willing pay what these mattresses cost to have a bed that would help. However, this is not that bed. It has actually made my back issues worse. If you really want a bed that is as firm as sleeping on a piece of cardboard I would suggest getting a $100 bed from Walmart.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceJuly 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We hate to hear that this is not the right model for you, especially since we have so many customers who love it. The Renewal Refined model is on the firmer side and a model such as the Wellbeing Refined or Savant may have been a better comfort fit.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

tried for several months now, still not comfortable, king splits, too firm

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
7Psleepless
Location:kansas
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Tried the renewal series for several months now, still not comfortable. Much to firm, support is good, for back or stomach sleeper. Side is questionable. . We purchased the split King, which is two XLT; with dual adjustable bases. Pro -Spend the dollars for an adjustable base. Wanted the head elevated comfort. which is plus. Split kings is very inconvienient. The mattress separates as well as the splits puts a damper on any intimate encounters. Pros side of splits, Spouse does not take up the whole bed. tends to stay on their own mattress. resulting in regaining sleep area, therefore no longer sleep on the edge of the bed. Sheets XLTdo not stay on, Spouse complains of shoulder and hip soreness, mattress is too firm. I have several layers of comfort padding above the mattress, in order to sleep on mattress, Spouse no longer sleeps on mattress, Either sleeps on the recliner or spare bedroom on a 300 dollar mattress. Currently thinking the dollar value which was spent to gain a goods nights sleep, was not worth it, so far, with this particular foam mattress. Bed tends retain heat, more than the spring mattress types. Mattress has not broken down to any softer degree, since purchase. Checking into a Comfort exchange, will update on how that goes.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Some features I like

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer avatar
KarenK
Location:Columbia, SC
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Wanted you to know that I purchased the Queen size mattress and not as pleased as other reviews I have read. I have a softer side then my husband and I often wake up with him on my side of the bed! There is a hump in the middle where I cant roll on his side but he can roll down to me. Not at all what I was planning on but now that I have purchased the bed. I am in hopes the 120 day trial will be in effect so we shall see. Since it is 20" deep, it is hard to find sheets to fit and when I do, they are expensive and too nice and makes us slide around even more.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceApril 12, 2013
We thank you for your feedback and will be sure to share your comments internally. Please connect with your retailer to discuss your options
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Still undecided after five months

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer avatar
DreaminCal12
Location:California, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We knew we did not want a spring mattress anymore, so went looking for a foam mattress. In store, we were steered to the iComfort with the pitch of a comparable product (to Tempupedic) for less money. Since we've had such bad experiences with mattress purchases in the past (the usual, never get what you think you are buying, quality poor, sagging, etc.) the price swayed us. The pros (for the Renewal Refined) are that the tempurature of the mattress is great, not really different from the spring mattress. Also, it keeps it's shape once you're out of it. However, I do find that when my husband and I sleep close together, we fall into the "valley." Also, from the first week he acquired vertigo, which I guess you could attribute to the change in pressure with the new mattress. He did get over that within a month (a miserable month), I guess once he got used to the change. His sciatica improved, but other pains appeared. My husband started to hurt in his lower back and neck, and I developed (and still have) very painful tendonitis in my shoulder area. My chiropractor attributes this to my side sleeping, but I have slept on my side for all my life, and the only difference now is that I sleep on the Renewal Refined iComfort. We have had some good night's sleep since we got the new mattress, but we have also had more tossing and turning nights. I've been told that the foam mattresses need to be broken in, and so I am hoping that it will become better and better as time goes on.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

First Night - Not Comfortable for Side Sleeper

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Tonester
Age:25 to 34
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This a review of my first night with the Renewal Refined mattress, and I will update my review each week. As other reviews have stated, the mattress upon arrival is much firmer than I expected after reading the product description and testing the one in the store. I am a side sleeper and my spouse is a back sleeper. My spouse reported a much more comfortable experience after the first night. To me, it felt like there was too much tension on the surface of the mattress, preventing my shoulder and hips from seeking down into the mattress. For a 13.5" mattress, it felt like only the top 2 or 3 inches were penetrable. Also, we purchased the split-king, which is actually just two separate Twin XL beds pushed next to each other. I think that because the mattress has an edge support layer that goes all the way around the edges of the mattress, the actual target sleeping area on the split king is much smaller than for a non-split king because the center of what used to be our king-sized bed, now includes two bed edges and a crack down the middle. Consequently, we have much less space to toss, turn, lay diagonal, stretch a leg across the bed, etc. On the plus side, I did not get overheated at all. But for the price paid for this mattress (10 times what we paid for our previous mattress), you would think that you would be in Heaven starting from night 1.
Additional thoughts on the adjustable base: the matching ergomotion base sold by Serta may be a better choice than purchasing an ergomotion base separately from the mattress store because the Serta one will zip together with the mattress, eliminating the problems we are now facing: when legs are raised the foot of the mattress pops up into the air, higher than you want, and allowing any tucked in sheets to become untucked, plus we have to work around the mattress retainer bar when changing sheets, and the color and texture of the non-Serta base does not look very good. So it may be worth it to pay more for the matching Serta base.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceMarch 1, 2013
Thank you for your review! We do want to point out that there may be an adjustment period especially if you are transitioning from an innerspring to a memory foam mattress. Your body will be adjusting to a new level of support, this is common and we suggest sleeping on your mattress for 30 days to get a better sense of the bed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My husband and I rest better than ever!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
BGOH
Location:Lisbon, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We purchased 3 months ago and are totally satisfied.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mattress

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Beautiful
Location:Dublin, OH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable. No break in period. No problems with bad smell.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sleeping like a baby...

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
TeenaMarie
Location:Minnesota
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband & I slept on a horrible pillowtop mattress for the past four years, and finally decided to take a chance on a new mattress. When we went to the furniture store, we told the salesman we wanted something firm & asked about the iComfort mattresses, since we'd seen ads for them. He asked us a few questions, and then took us to the Renewal Refined mattress--it was exactly what we were looking for! We headed to the checkout, set up delivery for the next day, and its been wonderful ever since! We're finally getting the good nights rest we'd been lacking for the past four years. Well worth the money, you definitely get what you pay for!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purchased with some reservations, but both sleeping better than ever now.

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
DesertGardener
Location:Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We went from a traditional pillow-top mattress with box springs to the same size bed, but Renewal Refined (without the adjustable bed frame). Our pillow-top mattress had developed body "troughs" after about a month of ownership, and we were looking for something that wouldn't do that again. This mattress has such a different feel that it is hard to describe. It is also cool upon entry--we were worried, as we live in the Arizona desert. However, it gets pleasantly warm within minutes, and we both find we have much longer deep-sleep cycles. My husband doesn't have to revert to the couch with his insomnia nearly as often. And, it is FLAT, now after owning for 3 months, it looks like the day it was delivered! Haven't slept in it during the hot summer yet, but feel confident that it won't be too warm.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this bed

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
toothfarie
Location:Oklahoma, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We love this bed. My only issue with it is we did not have it sooner. I think of all the nights of poor sleep prior and wish we had don't this years ago.
I cant remember when I have slept so good.
I also love that my husband and I don't roll to the middle any more we can sleep side by side and not bother each other. My husband is a snorer too and he no longer vibrates the bed.
wonderful experience
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best investments I've ever made!

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
GloriaH
Location:Cairo Ga
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Replaced an old Serta pillowtop after about 7 years. So happy I did! I was experiencing lower back pain and shoulder/neck pain. Tossing and turning. It just seemed to be getting worse. I wasn't so sure about spending nearly $3000 on a bed but I can sure tell you I don't regret it! One of the best investments I've ever made. So many people go cheap when it comes to mattresses and that has to be a big mistake. Getting a good nights sleep is very important to how you feel the next day. I can stay in bed longer now because I'm more comfortable. This means I get more rest. I still turn over during the night because I sleep on my side but I do so alot less than before because I have less pressure on my shoulders. There is less vibration too! Beautiful cover over the mattress. I have not taken it off yet since I use a mattress protector so have no need to. Another nice thing is no roll off on the sides like I had with my old pillow top. This mattress has the firmness I didn't think I needed with the added softness. Didn't try this particular model before I bought it but glad I upgraded to the extra layers.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best I have had

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
sleepy1
Location:Marin County Ca.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hello: I had been having trouble with my hips.I have bursitis and I thought that was the issue causing my discomfort but after sleeping in a friends bed while on vacation I found out that my pain was less. So I decided to get a new mattress and box spring,I found that the icomfort with the gel added to the foam was much easier to move around in then brands without. Although any new matress is alot of money I boutht the micomfort on sale and I am very hoppy to say that the pain in my hips is almost gone. I am very happy and recomend this matress for a side sleeper. With the 25yr warrenty you can't go wrong.Thanks
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bed does not make me any warmer than our last bed!

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Andy
Location:Gilroy, CA 95020, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was concered about making the purchase since I had heard that the bed tends to heat up. Now with the new features, I was convinced to give it a try. The clencher for me was the 30 day trail period... I'm still within the 30 day trail period, but have no intension of returning my mattress! I love it, my new mattress doesn't make me any warmer than my previous mattress! Never slept better...
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Renewal Refined™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I highly recommend this product to anyone

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Customer avatar
wmoses900
Location:Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable, High quality product, Very good support structure. Memory foam is very comfortable, This product performed as expected, Plan to buy this product for rooms.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>