Customer reviews for Serta Savant™

Serta Savant™

Supreme comfort meets advanced support with the Savant™ bed. A layer of our KoolComfort™ Memory Foam works with the Cool Action™ Gel Memory Foam to gently conform to and contour your body at the sleep surface, helping to relieve pressure points while your body receives proper and targeted support.
Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(156 reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 156 reviews
5 Stars
94
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
9
1 Star
15
125 out of 152(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Savant™
Review 1 for Savant™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sleeping on a cloud!

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer avatar
wnybika
Location:Western, NY, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We researched and shopped several different mattress systems before deciding on the Savant. We absolutely love this mattress. We've had it for a little over a month now, and still look forward to going to sleep every night. It meets both our comfort needs and both wake up pain free every morning. It provides the support we need while having a soft, enveloping feel. It is the most comfortable mattress I've ever slept on.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Savant™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is an excellent mattress set

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer avatar
tom59
Location:Ellington, CT, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Before we bought our new IComfort Savant mattress and box spring set I was waking up every morning with such back pain I could hardly stand up straight. My wife couldn't sleep through the night without waking up several times. We never thought it was the mattress because it wasn't that old.Thought we were getting old! Finally I said lets go and try out a new mattress, these new memory foam mattresses are supposed to be like sleeping on a cloud. We went and tried the big name one then tried the serta IComfort mattress with the cool gell infused into the foam. What a difference that made. We bought the set and had it delivered. Since then, no more back pain, my wife sleeps all night and doesn't even roll over. Best money we have ever spent. I don't know what it is like to sleep on a cloud, but if I had to guess, the IComfort is more comfortable!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
31of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Savant™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding mattress and love the adjustable base

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Paulamari
Location:Virginia, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This mattress is wonderful. It provides solid support while enabling you to be wrapped in comfort. The cool gel does an outstanding job. Using the adjustable base provides a new type of comfort combined with the mattress.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
19of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Savant™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

unhappy 10%

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
moon
Location:Stillwater Minnesota, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
they said in reviews , 10% of people find this mattress to hot to sleep on . don't get me wrong we both found it comfortable , but we are both hot sleepers and just could not handle the build up of heat every night .
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceApril 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're sorry to hear you're finding the mattress too hot, since the Cool Action material in the mattress is designed to help move heat away from the sleep surface. We can't make a specific recommendation without knowing what top of bed items you are using or what other factors may be contributing to your sleep temperature, so we do recommend contacting your retailer for assistance. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Savant™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Loved this mattress at first, then it just went way too soft.

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
delaine08
Location:Soddy Daisy, TN
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I loved this mattress for about the first 4 months. It was perfect, then started getting way to soft. Now at the 5 month mark it is awful. Now sinking all the way to bottom and waking with numbness and back and shoulder pain. It didn't break down too bad until after the 120 day trial. Now it is like sleeping in a hole, provides no support, can't sit up to watch tv or use laptop because your bottom sinks all the way down to core foam. It's like sleeping on a worn out pillow. I have read on other reviews that this has happened to others, then some have not had this problem. I'm not sure if some have a defect and others do not, but mine has been a bad experience and a very expensive mistake.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceFebruary 25, 2014
Hi Cynthia - we appreciate you sharing your experience with us and want you to be satisfied with your mattress. We recommend contacting your store of purchase to discuss the issues you are experiencing and for possible warranty assistance. If the store has closed or you have since moved, please call our customer service team at 1-888-557-3782.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Savant™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

chemical smell

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
tinker
Location:Albert Lea, Minnesota
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We received this bed last week slept on it one full night have not been able to sleep on it since because of a strong chemical smell that is coming from it we are waiting very patiently for an exchange of a different mattress set from our place of purchase. We have had a fan blowing on it to try to get the smell gone but without any luck. I hope we will have better luck with the next Serta mattress that we will be getting. We are kind of tired of camping out in our living room.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceFebruary 13, 2014
Olene - we appreciate you sharing your experience with us and want you to be satisified with your mattress. There can be an odor with a brand new mattress (similar to a new car smell from unused foams and fibers) that should dissipate after several days. If you are highly sensitive to odors, we suggest leaving the mattress uncovered for a bit with the windows open to help air it out. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Savant™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic bed

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
RT91
Location:Clemson, SC
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW- What a fantastic bed. I sleep better than ever. I am soooo happy with my new Serta Savant
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Savant™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Christy47
Location:Church Hill
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought the icomfort gel mattress one year ago. The first four months was okay . I was able to sleep and get up without back problems. After that the bed began to dip in and a big hump came in the middle. King size mattress by the way. Past six months I have to pull self out of bed due to the back ache. Hips also start hurting after laying in it for more than five hours. Also I have never been so hot sleeping as I have on this mattress . Don't know if I purchased a "reject" one or what. My mother had one and sleeps great that is why I decided to purchase it but I would not recommend to anyone and feel like I have wasted $1700.00. Looking now to replace it. I am not a big sized women to cause the dip in it either nor is my husband.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceJanuary 28, 2014
We regret to hear about this experience since the Savant is one of our best-selling and most highly reviewed models. We recommend contacting your store of purchase to schedule warranty service to see what may be going on with the mattress. The Cool Action material in the mattress is designed to help move heat away from the sleep surface, and we can't make a specific recommendation without knowing what top of bed items you are using or what other factors may be contributing to your sleep temperature. Your retailer should be able to help answer these questions. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Savant™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best I've ever sleep on hands down.

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Leo77
Location:Fayetteville. Nc.
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
No one comes even close in comfort on this model. Simply the best in the market. LN
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Savant™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible sleep

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
lpli25
Location:Indiana
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We have slept in this bed for about nine months now and I can honestly say this bed is worse than our previous bed. The comfort of this bed lasted for about four to five months. After that, neither of us have had a good night sleep without our back or neck hurting. The bed is very hot in the middle of the night, so much for the cooling gel. The price has gone down considerably on this bed but I would still not recommend purchasing.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceJanuary 21, 2014
We regret to hear about this experience since the Savant is one of our best-selling and most highly reviewed models. We recommend contacting your store of purchase to schedule warranty service to see what may be going on with the mattress. The Cool Action material in the mattress is designed to help move heat away from the sleep surface, and we can't make a specific recommendation without knowing what top of bed items you are using or what other factors may be contributing to your sleep temperature. Your retailer should be able to help answer these questions. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Savant™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Never buy another mattress

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
qrtrsandy
Location:New York
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I actually started with the firmer model and after a couple weeks switched to the "genius" model. That's the middle range firmness one. I have had it over a year now and it is still as nice as it was when it first got broke in. I will never buy a regular mattress again. I'm rating this one as the genius model isn't on here but they do still sell it. My husband is 300 pounds and I am 140 the bed works for both of us!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer ServiceDecember 31, 2013
We're happy to hear you enjoy your mattress! Thank you for choosing Serta!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Savant™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what I expected - regretting this purchase!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
DWAinFL
Location:Tampa, FL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this bed from Macy's almost a year ago and wanted to wait to write a review. One of the main reasons I went with this bed was due to the 120 night return. My plan was to give it the full 4 months because right off the bat I wasn't satisfied but I understand there is a "break-in" period. I didn't do the math correctly in my head and now I'm stuck with a $2k mistake!
The bed is very comfortable for the first 30 minutes you are in it. After that you start to sink deeper and deeper into the mattress and then you are enveloped in a heat capturing silhouette. I wake up in the middle of the night and I have to pull myself to the edge of the bed to cool off and to get some support. It takes forever for the memory foam to recover from the full body impression left after you roll yourself out of the valley that was created while you were sleeping.
Both my partner and I feel the same way about this mattress. The worst part is in the morning when you have to pull yourself out of the rut. This bed sleeps very HOT! Just to make the point - I have gone into the bedroom hours later to make the bed to only feel heat that was captured from the previous night!
There is no way I could recommend this bed or iComfort to anyone with this experience! I'm thinking I will be purchasing a new bed soon and this one will end up in the guest room. In fact, I prefer my old bed over this one and it was an inexpensive one that was only 5 years old!
Do your research and mark your calendar so you don't miss the 120 day cut off. Wish someone would have warned me about this!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Savant™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product has Defects and Hidden Pains Everywhere

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
NothingbutPain
Location:Hershey, PA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We purchsed our iComfort in replacemnt of an interspring we had slept on for 10 plus years. We decided it was time for an upgrade. For the first 6 months it was absolutely wonderful. It felt like I was floating on a cloud. Our backs felt great and I slept like the dead. It was everything we hoped for and more. NOW ...VERY VERY disappointed .... After the 6 month mark..the bed lost all support and almost over night the mattress started to sag in middle. We contacted the store from who we purchased the mattress and set-up a rep. to take a look at the support issue in our home. The store rep. was in our house two minutes or less, stated nothing they could do, since no visiable sag. Store Rep. stating not a Warranty Claim. At that time we told store rep. mattress is sagging towards middle of bed, like the foam is starting to give up its firmness. After the store rep. visit, we rotated the 180 deg. looking for some "iComfort".....only to continue to wake up every morning feeling like we just got in a fight. Even with proper rotation, we both have huge sagging sleeping impressions. Enough was enough...I contacted the store manager and sale rep. They wanted to take a look again at mattress, since this was our second complaint in a year. Only to have the same results as the first store rep. visit....no visible sag...no warranty claim. NO luck but bad luck with the warranty because when you get out of bed there are no impressions...if you just push your hands on the bed in different spots you can feel the difference. Such a GIANT waste of a lot of money!!! Anyone who gave this bed a great review just hasn't had it long enough. Just give it a few more months and I guarantee it won't be all "iComfort" and sleeping like the dead!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Savant™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Bed

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
jetskiga2
Location:Sioux Falls, SD, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I must admit i was somewhat skeptical after reading some of the previous reviews about the size of the construction, and the varying opinions of comfort. So i brought a tape measure with me when i went shopping at the local retailer who carried i comfort beds. I measured 3 different models and they were all spot on, so in my opinion you can dispell that myth. I ended up chosing the Savant due to my back conditions, and sampling 4 different models. It was delivered, it fit my queen frame like a glove, and i have never had such enjoyable sleep in years. The third night i sleep straight for 10 hours, no tossing and turning, no sore back, felt fabulous getting out of bed. And the myth about hot sleeping, not a chance from my perspective. I sleep with a down comforter and a down alternative blanket on the bed and have not had an incident of hot sleeping. I did purchase the Eucylptis mattress cover sold by Serta for these beds, and that is also designed to pull heat away from your body. This bed is amazing..............
Yes, I recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Savant™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it, 1 yr later still happy!

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Beck
Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband and I had a waterbed for 20 yrs before finally realizing it was time to get into a regular bed again. We shop around for about a year before agreeing to purchase this bed. One year later we still love it! It gives us just enough support. No more back pain. So happy we decided to get this one!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Savant™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Haley83
Location:Lafayette, LA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love love love this mattress! I have a messed up disc at c3-c4 & l5-s1 as well as fibromyalgia & I am pregnant... Being pregnant I can't take my normal meds so I have been in terrible pain until now!!! I would recommend this mattress to anyone... I like a softer bed but this one is soft but has a lot of support :-) enjoy
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Savant™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Bought Another

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
1percentstriver
Location:North Alabama
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This morning, we bought our second Savant of 2013. Even though we sleep only summer Friday and Saturday nights (and a random winter evening) at our vacation home, we missed our iComfort mattress dearly. We’re taking the new one to the lake this weekend! Now, we’ll never want to leave the lake.
We bought the first mattress in January. At the time, I was having terrible shoulder and upper back pain and had been for over a year. I was certain that I would need shoulder surgery. Today, I have no pain. My wife and I are both of moderate weight and we have similar sleeping habits. We are both side sleepers with a tendency to go to our stomach at some point during the night. My wife can and does sleep on her back on occasion. I have a touch of sleep apnea and unable to sleep on my back.
We are both amazed at the restful eight months we have had. With a pre-schooler, a toddler, and one on the way, that’s saying something. The mattress is relatively soft but supportive. We tried a topper at the lake, but it was not supportive enough and cases me shoulder pain. In fact, any other bed I have slept in, I have awoken with shoulder pain. Thankfully, I have not spent many nights away from my Savant.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Savant™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect for hubby, not so much for me

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
coffeemama
Location:Seattle, WA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As other reviewers have said, my husband LOVES this mattress. He says he says it enables him to sleep like a baby and he no longer has aches and pains. I, however, wake up with more back pain than I did with our old spring/coil mattress. I wish the mattress was a little bit firmer and had more support for my own well being but my husband wouldn't change a thing.
We also got the icomfort contoured pillows: we both love those.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Savant™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best sleep I've ever had!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
RyanS04
Location:Charleston, SC, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After matress shopping for multiple brands and models I planted my feet down on purchasing this matress and I can confidently say that this IS the best money spent and most amazing night of rest I've ever had. Being 27 years old, buying an expensive matress wasnt high on my priority list but I am glad did. I sleep like a rock every night and wake up in whatever position I fell asleep in. I have yet had a body part falls asleep and go numb during my slumber. Ive had it for 8 months now and it still feels brand new. The only Con I can think of is when I travel and have to sleep in another bed. Highly recommend! Good job Serta!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Savant™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too Soft

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Suz2
Location:Pearisburg, VA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
What room is the mattress for?Master MasterBedroom
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
After 1 week, we could tell the mattress was too soft for both of us. Our backs are hurting when we get up in the morning, which should never happen. We are side sleepers and 1 can be a stomach sleeper at times. Dealer is making us wait 30 days even though the bed won't get firmer. Our wait is up this week so we are hoping the Prodigy will be better, not as soft.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from SertaBy Customer Service.July 31, 2013
We do want to thank you for your comments. The iComfort models come in different levels of firmness to accommodate all sleepers. We do hope the Prodigy is a better fit for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>